Galveston’s original Tremont House was built in 1839, the same year the city was founded. Dubbed “the Belle of the South” only 26 years later, it was razed by a fire that swept through Galveston’s Strand District. In 1872, it was reimagined and reopened as a grand four-story architectural gem that would go on to attract some of the world’s dignitaries.. The second Tremont property was later demolished in 1928 after surviving a hurricane in 1900. Decades later, in 1985, community leaders George and Cynthia Mitchell reopened the doors to The Tremont House, this time at the former address of the Leon & H. Blum Building, which was built in 1879.
Today, 34 years later, The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, is known as a premier hotel with modern amenities and architectural elements of its rich past, such as exposed brick walls and pressed-tin ceilings. The hotel has a café, rooftop lounge—looking out over the cruise ships leaving the harbor—and a lobby bar. Additional amenities include 16,000 square feet of meeting and event space, including the Sam Houston Ballroom with brick walls and the Tremont Ballroom with soaring 14-foot ceilings. The adjacent Annex, with 1,925 square feet of space, can accommodate up to 150 guests.